Light Lunch

6 May
I work full-time in an office at a local university. There is a lot of sitting involved with my job (although I do love the opportunities to run errands around campus as it gives me a chance to get my blood flowing). So it’s important to eat well during the day since I’m not burning a lot of calories most of the time. By bringing my lunch to work 99% of the time, not only do I have portion control but I also save a lot of $$.
I put this lunch together yesterday for the reasons stated above…and because I knew my dinner was probably going to be heavy.
Light Lunch: Spinach salad

Spinach salad with Italian dressing and a plum

My salad comprised of spinach, baby carrots, sliced yellow squash, black olives, tomato, a little bit of shredded mozzarella cheese and Italian dressing with a plum. They say ‘eat your colors’ and I’m pretty sure this lunch just about covers ROYGBIV.

The spinach and squash are from what was left of my Lemon Garlic Baked Tilapia, the olives I had in my pantry, the baby carrots I try to keep on hand (same with Italian dressing), the tomato and cheese were in my fridge from previous dinners I put together (turkey burgers and chicken parmigiana respectively – posts coming soon), and the plum was one of the fruits I picked up during my last grocery stop.

What’s your light lunch of choice?

One Response to “Light Lunch”

  1. Vanessa May 10, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    The salad looks delish! My favorite dressing is fat free 1000 island. I never thought of putting olives in the salad I make, but I’m going to now!

Leave a Reply

