Simple Swap: Slim-Fast Lunch

9 May

Ok, I know a lot of people think they couldn’t possibly get by with just an 11 oz drink for lunch, but really, you can.

I’ve never done the Slim-Fast 3-2-1 plan and I don’t use the shakes to lose weight per se, but I do keep Slim-Fast meal shakes on hand for days like today – I opted to sleep in 15 minutes rather than put together my lunch and I’ve been running non-stop since I walked in the office.

Slim-Fast meal shakes

Slim-Fast meal shakes

This shake is perfect to grab and go, and because it has 10 grams of protein (20% of your daily intake), it really does fill you up until dinner. The vanilla and strawberry flavors have 180 calories per can, while the chocolate royale (pictured) has 190 calories. I prefer the chocolate and vanilla flavors. Strawberry is OK and I recommend staying far away from the capuccino kind (ick!).

Another perk – they’re affordable. You can usually find six-packs for about $5 at WalMart and just this past weekend I saw a 12-pack there for $10 (either packs come to $0.83/can!)

One Response to “Simple Swap: Slim-Fast Lunch”

  1. Vanessa May 10, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    It’s my favorite breakfast when I’m running late, keeps me pretty full until lunch 🙂

Leave a Reply

