Dinner for One: Teriyaki Veggie Stir-Fry

12 May

While I was pulling things out of my crisper drawer the other morning trying to put together my lunch for the day, I noticed I had a handful of veggies that needed to be eaten ASAP.

Then I noticed I had some brown rice left over. And remembered I had teriyaki sauce in my pantry. …Sounds like dinner to me! Then, the day that I planned on making this, my boss passed on a goodie basket from a catering company that’s courting the university for a contract.

Foodie Goodie Basket

Goodie Basket - olive oil, loose-leaf chamomile tea, radishes, turnip, artichoke, carrots, rosemary and greens

I’m not sure how I’m going to use the radish, turnip, artichoke, rosemary and greens (all fresh – picked THAT day) but the carrots went right into my stir-fry.

INGREDIENTS

Teriyaki veggie stir-fry

  • 1/4 yellow squash, sliced
  • 1/4 tomato, chopped
  • 2 stalks of celery, chopped
  • 1/4 red onion, chopped
  • 1 carrot, peeled and sliced
  • 3/4 Cup cooked brown rice
  • 2 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 2 TBSP olive oil
  • Teriyaki sauce to taste
  • **You can add or subtract any vegetables to your preference**

I started by sauteeing the garlic in olive oil. Once the garlic was lightly browned, I added the tomato, celery, squash, carrot and red onion.

Eat your colors! Veggie stir-fry

Once the veggies became a little soft, I poured in the pre-cooked rice. After the rice was warm, I added about 2 TBSP of the teriyaki sauce (you can add more or less, depending on your preference). Total cook time takes about 15-20 minutes.

Veggies and brown rice stir-fry

Veggies with brown rice added

Stir well, serve hot and I opted to pair it with a glass of Chateau St. Michelle’s Cabernet Sauvignon (for no other reason than I’m trying to finish the bottle).

Teriyaki veggie stir-fry

Quick & easy teriyaki veggie stir-fry

I would have had leftovers for about one more meal, but I was starving and this was delish! This is also a great vegetarian/vegan (?) dish.

Quick, easy and satisfying 🙂

3 Responses to “Dinner for One: Teriyaki Veggie Stir-Fry”

  1. Mom May 12, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    I am very impressed at how you are preparing these healthy meals, I am alos surprised at the wine parings .. Expecially from you

    • shan1087 May 12, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

      Thanks! And as far as the wine…there is no method to my madness LOL

  2. Vanessa May 13, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    Yum! That looks really good. You should have made it for a party of two and invited your bff over 😛

Leave a Reply

