Bown Sugar & Mixed Berries Oatmeal

19 May

Inspired by Starbucks’ “Perfect Oatmeal,” I put together this yummy breakfast last weekend with stuff I had on hand.

INGREDIENTS:

Brown sugar, oats, mixed berries, hot water

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 2 TBSPN brown sugar
  • Handful of fresh or frozen mixed berries
  • 1/2 cup water

Boil the water – pour it over the oats. Stir oats periodically as they absorb the water. (You can add water a little at a time if you like your oatmeal a little more runny.) Once you get to the consistency you like, add in brown sugar and berries for a perfectly portioned, hearty and healthy breakfast (that is also perfect fuel for a Saturday morning workout)!

You could even use nuts or dried fruit as toppings, or heated fat-free milk instead of water – whatever will make your oatmeal “perfect” for you. πŸ˜€

(Note: I used frozen berries and I didn’t give them enough time to defrost before I put them in my oatmeal, so my recommendation is putting them in the fridge the night before you want to make the oatmeal to be sure they’re ready to go in the morning.)

The total cook time took about 15 minutes (including the time it took to boil the water) and didn’t cost me anything since I worked with what I already had at home. πŸ™‚

2 Responses to “Bown Sugar & Mixed Berries Oatmeal”

  1. Vanessa May 19, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    I love oatmeal with milk, bananas, and honey drizzled over it. Awesome breakfast πŸ™‚

    • shan1087 May 19, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

      oooo honey?! I didn’t think about that. I have honey…

Leave a Reply

