Simple Swap: Honey Mustard & Low Fat Mayo

25 May

I’m not a fan of plain, yellow mustard – at all. I used to opt for mayo (only the teensiest bit) when making a sandwich at home or getting one from Subway, and then I saw that EVERY calorie came from fat. Gross.

So next time I was at the store I checked the label of Light Mayo – 35 calories (instead of 90) per serving…but 30 calories are from fat. Gross.

I was eating my sandwiches dry for awhile.

Then I discovered honey mustard:

This little gem is only 10 calories a serving with NONE of the calories from fat. And it is a much better alternative to a dry sandwich.

Then I came across the dilemma of, “What am I going to use to make tuna???”

Low Fat Mayo, of course! (I’m not sure what makes it different from ‘Light Mayo’ but there IS a BIG difference in calories.)

Low Fat Mayo only has 15 calories per serving (10 of which are from fat but…I’m not ready to make tuna with mustard so…) and has tasted fine to me in my last batch of tuna.

I looked at the mayo that’s made with olive oil, but that still had 50 calories/serving 45 of which are from fat – ick.

Now, I only use honey mustard on my sammiches ( πŸ™‚ ) and keep a small jar of Low Fat Mayo for tuna use only!

4 Responses to “Simple Swap: Honey Mustard & Low Fat Mayo”

  1. Vanessa May 26, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    I remember the first time I tried honey mustard, it was with you at Disneyland during our prom day :D. I’m actually really glad you posted this, because mayo has kind been tasting gross to me and I didn’t know what else to use. I LOVE honey mustard with fries…nom.

    • shan1087 May 26, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

      Aw! Prom! πŸ™‚

  2. Ashley May 26, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    I really like this blog! I will be stealing some of your recipes! And yes, mayo is the devil :-P, though I’d be lying if I said I didn’t use the smallest amount for my tuna.

    • shan1087 May 26, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

      Thanks Ash! And I totally thought of your mayo-phobia when I was writing this – I’ve developed my own mayo-phobia, too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

