My Run Playlist

2 Jun

I NEED to listen to music when I go for long runs – I have to focus on something other than my brain’s comments of, “Really? We’re still running? Aren’t you tired? Yeeaahhh…you’re tired. This is boring. Stop running for no reason now.”

I’ve found a few songs that really help keep me motivated when I start to lose focus and I thought I’d share them with you.

First, I like to listen to songs I know the words to because if I can focus on the lyrics, I’m not thinking about how long I’ve been running (or how long I think/feel like I’ve been running). These include:

  • N’ Sync – It’s Tearin’ Up My Heart
  • Kelli Pickler – Red High Heels
  • Miley Cyrus – Party in the USA
  • Ke$ha – Tik Tok and Blah Blah Blah

Then, I like to mix in songs by artists I wish I had the body of (extra motivation, you know?) Such as:

  • Britney Spears – Do Somethin’ (or any of her pre-head shaving dance songs)
  • Jennifer Lopez – Play

And the third type of songs – hip hop/rap. I’ve noticed that I can run forever(ish) listening to Eminem, 50 cent and Will Smith. I haven’t decided if it’s because of the beat, which helps keep my pace steady, or if it’s the lyrics that talk about how awesome they are and make me want to be awesome (and gangster) too! My favorites:

  • Will Smith – I’m Comin’ or Who Am I or La Fiesta or Can You Feel Me
  • 50 Cent -Disco Inferno or Just a Lil Bit
  • Eminem – Without Me or Lose Yourself or Real Slim Shady
  • Usher – Yeah!

What are your most motivational songs to work out to?

How do you get past the 30-minute mark? I’ve found that I’m not necessarily tired or out of breath after 30 minutes, my brain just gets the best of me at that point. What are your tricks?

2 Responses to “My Run Playlist”

  1. Vanessa June 3, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    Well, I just have to say, you are pretty gangsta ;).

    I love to listen to good dance songs, since they make me want to move. Fast paced works best for me, it makes me want to keep going. What I don’t like is my headphone string flipping everywhere lol…I need to fix that.

    Happy Friday!

    • shan1087 June 6, 2011 at 10:18 am #

      I have a fix for that! I tuck the string in my shirt and I tuck my iPod under my sports bra strap. The string doesn’t dangle and my iPod is still easily accessible (and by not using an arm band, I don’t lose circulation to my arm).

Leave a Reply

