Simple Swap: Spinach

6 Jun

Cute story: I’ve been eating spinach since I can remember because my grandma used to say, “Eat your spinach because you want to be strong like Popeye.” And really, what 6-year-old girl doesn’t want to have massive forearms to beat up bullies with?

Me! (apparently, I was annoyed...)

Clearly, he's every young girls idol

And now I use spinach as a great substitute for regular iceberg lettuce.

1 Cup of raw spinach has only 7 calories, 1g of fiber, 1g of protein, 56% of your Vitamin A for the day, as well as 14% of Vitamin C and 5% of iron.

1 Cup of raw iceberg lettuce has 10 calories, only 7% of Vitamin A, 3% of Vitamin C and 2% of iron.

I now use spinach on my sandwiches instead of iceberg lettuce and my salads are generally spinach-based (or another, dark green leafy veg like Romaine lettuce or baby greens). There is a slight taste difference, but only because iceberg doesn’t really taste like anything to begin with.

Popeye was really on to somethin’!

3 Responses to “Simple Swap: Spinach”

  1. Vanessa June 6, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    You look adorable lol, that’s the same face you make around dumb people :P. I’ve been using spinach in my sandwiches, salads, and in my scrambled eggs in the morning–not for the calories, just because I like the texture and taste :).

    Tequila tonight!!

  2. Ashley June 21, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    Have you tried blending spinach in a smoothie or protein drink? I keep reading about it on other blogs, but I can’t get past the weird consistency I imagine it would have.

    • shan1087 June 22, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

      No, I haven’t even heard of that. I suppose it would be like your own, homemade V8. You’d probably have to make sure the leaf stems are cut off, too. I have some Yoplait smoothie stuff (the kind they advertised on Biggest Loser) but when I got home I realized I don’t have a blender… LOL I’ll keep the spinach idea in mind when I finally get to use the smoothie mix though!

Leave a Reply

