Simple Swap: Almond Milk

15 Jun

I have a friend who introduced me to Almond Milk and it seemed like the day after she talked about, everyone else around me was talking about it, too. They were talking about it having a longer shelf-life than milk and fewer calories, it’s lactose free….I was interested but I’ve always been a “Got Milk?” girl.

I hesitated buying it because of the $3 price tag (my usual fat-free milk is under $2) but eventually gave in because almond milk has only 60 calories per serving compared to fat-free/skim milk’s 90 calories. I checked the expiration date: August 2, 2011 (I bought it on June 13, 2011 – nice!). It also has a ton of calcium and Vitamins D, E and B12.

Almond milk isn’t as stark white as cow milk, it doesn’t have a milky smell (or really any smell that I could sense) and it’s much thicker than my usual fat-free milk – it’s more like whole milk. It does have a slight almond taste, but not enough that you could use it to make an almond latte (I do use it in my coffee and it does the same job as regular milk or half-and-half).

The only thing I’m not impressed with was the consistency it gave my Cheerios. Because of the extra thickness, my cereal was more cream-based-soup-y than I prefer. I’m probably going to try using it to make creamier oatmeal and other hot cereals, or hot chocolate (OMG almond milk hot chocolate sounds amazing!).

I tried ‘original’ but it also comes in vanilla, dark chocolate (apparently my idea isn’t so original after all…) and unsweetened.

Overall, it’s a pretty good substitute if you’re looking to cut calories anyway you can, if you’re lactose intolerant, or if you just don’t drink milk very often and need something with a longer shelf-life.

You can even visit Pure Almond’s website to register to get a $0.75 coupon. They also have some interesting recipes to use almond milk as a substitute.

P.S. If you say or write the word “milk” enough, it sounds utterly ridiculous (HA! Pun semi-intended :P)

One Response to “Simple Swap: Almond Milk”

  1. Vanessa June 15, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    I need to try this! I’ll drink the soy milk my parents buy every once in a while, it tastes really good with Special K Vanilla Almond 🙂

Leave a Reply

