Italian Adventures Pt. 1

1 Jul

I’m leaving for Italy in T-minus 6 hours and 45 minutes. Yesterday, I had a wonderful thought: My grandma is so happy for me right now.

My grandma passed away nearly two years ago. She was born and raised in Germany and traveled all over Europe before coming to the States. One of the things that she always talked about was how beautiful Europe (especially Germany) was. It was incredibly frustrating for my American-born mother and for myself to listen to constantly, but after telling people I work with that I’m going to Italy, I know my grandma’s not the only one with that sentiment.

I’ve told quite a few people I work with that I’m spending a month in Italy and every single person lights up at the thought of it. It seems like everyone I work with has been there and every one of them has told me different places to go – Bologna, Pompeii, Slovenia. Every person has a recommendation for the “best” of something and every person says, “You’re going to have a great time” or “I wish I were going.”

After talking with these people about my trip, I can almost hear my grandma say, “See??” I can picture her beaming at hearing Americans gush about Europe and how wonderful it is. I can feel her excitement for me, knowing that I’m getting the chance to see what she saw and experience some of what she experienced (if only a fraction of it). And that makes me very happy and excited.

I used to roll my eyes when we’d go out to eat and my grandma would say, “This isn’t Italian food. I’ve been to Italy and this isn’t Italian.” Now, I can’t wait to come home and say the same. 🙂

One Response to “Italian Adventures Pt. 1”

  1. Ashley July 2, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    This is really cute 🙂 I agree, I’m sure she is very happy for you! Happy traveling!

Leave a Reply

