Mystic Tan

1 Jul

It’s summer and in SoCal everyone makes it a priority to be tan. I enjoy getting a little color (especially because it helps show off muscle definition and I think it makes me look thinner) but I always feel a little guilty after lounging by the pool.

See, my family has this lovely trait of “beauty marks” if you will. Sometimes, yes, they can be cute and they definitely add character. But other times, they’re just plain ugly and in places that don’t need marks of any kind – beautiful or otherwise. Sunning to get a tan for vainity’s sake bites me in the ass a few months later when I notice a mark and think to myself, “…that’s a new one…” Tanning beds are no help either (I’ve never used a tanning bed because of the horrible studies I’ve read. And I figure, if I’m going to give myself skin cancer, I might as well be outside and get some Vitamin D while I’m at it. Life’s all about balance.)

But recently, I found a coupon for a free Mystic Tan at a nearby salon. Really, it was $2 and change after I bought the ‘bronzer’ additive or whatever. But for $2 it was worth a shot.

This is something I will definitely do again. Sure it was awkward at first – taking commands from an electronic booth while you’re wearing nothing but your birthday suit and a shower cap – and your entire body feels like a set of freshly-painted nails, but it really did have a nice, natural, lasting effect. I did the spray tan a week ago and while I’ve noticed some fading, I’m still pretty bronzed.

I didn’t have any streaks or splotches of color – as long as you follow the instructions the salon attendant gives you, it works really well.

Spray tan is a much healthier alternative to tanning outside or in a UV bed at a salon. Granted, it’s more expensive than either of those options, but it’s worth it if only for a few times a year.

2 Responses to “Mystic Tan”

  1. Lorna Miosky July 14, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    Merely wanna say that this is very useful , Thanks for taking your time to write this. “I would much rather have men ask why I have no statue, than why I have one.” by Cato the Elder.

    • shan1087 July 15, 2011 at 6:31 am #

      Thank you for the comment Lorna! You’re very welcome – glad I could help. 🙂

Leave a Reply

