Italian Adventures: Pisa and Lucca

12 Jul

We just got home a little while ago from our excursion to Pisa and Lucca. The Leaning Tower was fun but the bike riding in Lucca was the best!

It was hotter than heck today – 35 degrees celsius!! (95 degrees or so Farenheit). Pisa was actually kind of sketchy. We walked with our guide into the ‘tourist’ area (it’s walled-in) where we met with another tour guide who talked about the history behind the buildings. He was hilarious – he spoke very sing-song like and made actually funny jokes. We were able to go into the church and into the baptistry, then we had about 10 minutes to take pictures with/of the tower before we set off to Lucca.

Lucca was so pretty. I didn’t venture far into town before we checked out our bicycles and were able to ride along the wall of the city. I circled it twice before we had to take the bikes back. It was amazing! The sun on my shoulders, breeze in my face, the beautiful scenery and just knowing that I was biking in Lucca, Italy on a TUESDAY. Much better than working.

Once we got back into Florence, I detoured a bit and bought a cool sweatshirt (which felt silly as I stood there in 90+ degree heat). But in a few months, when it gets cold in Cali, I have a Universita Firenze sweatshirt with the Fluer de Lis symbol of Florence to wear. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m in for the night now to work on homework. Tomorrow is class and probably some more shopping. Oh, and there’s a good possibility of getting a ride on a vespa (Sarah, she’s amazing. Remember her anecdote from this post? Well, the guy she was with last night is a fashion designer who’s family lives here, so if he contacts her and wants to hang out, she’s going to suggest he bring a few friends/family members to give Becky and me vespa rides. I frickin’ love Italy!) Hopefully we’ll be booking our trip to Venice for the end of the month, too. It doesn’t look like I’ll be seeing any other countries other than Italy, but I’m making sure to see as much of Italy as I can. There’s a group that wants to do a 3-day trip to the Almafi Coast (Pompeii, the Island of Capri and one other place) next weekend. Hopefully that works out. On Thursday, we leave for Rome!

2 Responses to “Italian Adventures: Pisa and Lucca”

  1. Vanessa July 12, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    It’s pretty hot here too, but I don’t get to bike around a lovely country in this heat lol. Loved your outfit and the pic with the tower ๐Ÿ™‚

    • shan1087 July 13, 2011 at 1:33 am #

      Thanks! I got lots of compliments on it, too. It was the one I wore when we met those Australian guys, LOL. I wanted to tell people here that little nugget of fact, but only you can truly appreciate it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

