Funny Story…

15 Jul

Yesterday, on our way to the hotel, we passed a store with this beautiful, simple, classy white dress with a perfect, thick-width shamrock green tie belt in the window. I wanted it. Well, today I went out with Becky and Alicia to go shopping for something nice to wear out tonight in Rome. I had my heart set on that dress.

I tried on four other dresses at some boutique but wasn’t in love. Then, we found the store with the white dress. It was another small store that I didn’t recognize. I went inside the store and walked to the place where the dress was in the window. The room behind the window had a ton of boxes marked D&G. Uh oh. The store front didn’t say Dolce & Gabbana.

I found the dress hanging in a different part of the store and sure enough it had a tag that with the same D&G on it. I looked at the price – 300-something euro (about $500 USD). Sigh. I still have expensive taste on the other side of the world.

I didn’t try it on. I just had to laugh at myself. Of all the dresses to see in a store window from the back of a speeding bus in a city I’ve never been to, I pick one made by a high-end designer being sold in some unrecognizable boutique shop.

Damn my champagne taste and beer budget…

I settled for a pair of new heels to dress up a casual outfit (and save me about 275 euro).

One Response to “Funny Story…”

  1. Vanessa July 15, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    This is why we’re friends :). I’m the one that went into Jimmy Choo and said “these are only $500!”

    Someday, bff, someday!

Leave a Reply

