Roman Adventure: Super Quick Post

15 Jul

I only have a few minutes to post an update because we only have three days in the most amazing, historical, fun, cool, super-fabulous city in the world. Therefore, I don’t really have time to waste being on a computer.

We got in yesterday afternoon and took a walking tour around out hotel where we saw the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Piazza Novena (chariot races), the Pantheon, the Rodeo Drive of Rome and had THE BEST gelato on the face of the planet (for reals this time – hands down amazing). We tracked down this mom-n-pop restaurant for dinner that was recommended to me by a co-worker (delicious!) and then we wandered around a street market set up along the Tiber River. We even enjoyed part of an Italian movie from a bridge. It was being projected next to an old castle-like building under the full moon. Beautiful! I’ll post pictures in a follow-up post once my camera battery charges and I have time to load them on here.

Today, we went to the Vatican and walked through the museum, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter’s Basillica. Gorgeous, breath-taking, amazing and overall overwhelming. The grandeur of the Basillica cannot be captured with a camera and the few pictures I have of the Sistine Chapel are technically illegal (and captured only because of my ninja-like stealthiness). Now, we’re freshening up at the hotel before a few of us girls go shopping before meeting up with the rest of the group to go to an ice bar. Ice bar? As in, a bar made of ice? Yes. Yes everything is made of ice – they give you a jacket and gloves upon entrance. I’m telling you, amazing! Also, my friend Becky’s family owns a restaurant in Rome so we’re going to find it and have dinner there.

Tomorrow we leave super early to visit the Colliseum and Sunday we head back to boring old Florence. Just kidding. Florence is beautiful but Rome literally gives me chills at some of the sites. I was nearly brought to tears at the Pantheon and the Basillica. Not to mention the weather is better and I’m going to miss having the luxuries of staying at a hotel.

Pictures are coming, I promise!

One Response to “Roman Adventure: Super Quick Post”

  1. Vanessa July 15, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    You looked beautimus in that blue you wore! I can’t wait to see the pics, seriously, it’s going to be a night of slideshows when you get back.

Leave a Reply

