Lunch Time Workouts

7 Aug

Being back in the States after living in Italy for a month made me realize how little Americans actually move. I walked everywhere in Italy and here, I drive everywhere. Before I left the country, I tried to get to the gym at least three times a week. Now, I still try to make my gym goal every week but I’ve also upped the anti – I’m aiming to move much more on a daily basis. I started on Friday while at work.

I bring my lunch to work 99% of the time but many times, I end up with a lot of time left over on my lunch. (It doesn’t take an hour to eat a turkey sandwich and some grapes…)

So, I decided I would try something. I brought my tennis shoes and iPod and after I was done with my caprese salad, I laced up and started walking. I work on a university campus, so I have access to a track which makes it easy to monitor how far I walked – about a mile and a half.

I didn’t walk very fast because I still had to be presentable when I went back into the office, but I burned way more calories than I would have if I was sitting the whole time.

Another thing I’ve done in the past is go on walks around the campus and through the neighborhoods. The change of scenery makes these walks more interesting if walking in a circle isn’t really your thing.

What creative ‘moves’ do you do during the work day?

Leave a Reply

